Review: All the Bright Places

12:18 PM


Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Nieven
Series: N/A, Standalone
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Publication Date: January 6th, 2015
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Buy Links: Amazon || The Book Depository
  Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

  Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

  Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

  When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

  This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

  All the Bright Places is a book that definitely took me by surprise! When I first read the synopsis of this book, I really, really didn't want to read it because it sounded cliche and dramatic and whiny to me. But after seeing all the hype and not reading any negative reviews, I picked this up with a sigh. Which is why I was really, really surprised by how much I loved this one, and how I now think that everyone should read this book!

  This book follows Finch and Violet, how the two meet in the Bell Tower in school when they were both thinking about suicide and how they saved each other other and started a weird new friendship, yadda yadda. It sounds very cliche and all, but let me tell you, it's anything but.

  When I started reading the book, I felt like it was kind of slow and I wasn't really fully engaged with the book. As the book went on, I realized that the pacing was just different. For the first half of the book, I was prepared to give this book only about 3.5 stars. But as the book went on, I realized that its purpose was not to make the readers swoon or feel the feels, although there were parts that did that too. The purpose of this book was really to make people aware about mental illnesses. It also helps that the writing was beautiful, albeit being different.

  As shown in this book, people with metal illnesses don't often get diagnosed because "That's just the way he is." People with mental illnesses often get labeled as freaks, weirdos and get called other names, which just really worsens their conditions. As said in Jennifer Nieven's author note, someone dies from suicide every 40 seconds, and that's such a high rate. Through this book, people would become aware of this, and maybe that would help in preventing this rate to go any higher or maybe even lower it.

  Nieven's author note made me understand how important this book is. I loved how this was close to the author's heart and how it was based on a personal experience, and it contributed to how realistic the novel was.

  This novels was raw, beautiful, unique and full of truths. It showed me both the bright and dark side of life, and I really appreciated that. As early as now, I can say that this one is going to be one of my favorite books of the year, and I urge everyone to read this. The hype surrounding this book isn't for nothing.

Buy Links: Amazon || The Book Depository

“It's my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease just to make it easier on me and also on them.” 
“The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it's the small things that count.”

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.” 

You Might Also Like

6 thoughts

  1. I cannot begin to say how much I loved this book! Glad you did too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I cannot wait to read this one - I am so glad you loved it!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  3. Glad you loved this one! I agree that it sounds cliche and it's anything but! It just went so far beyond what I thought it was gong to be even after seeing all the hype around it.

    Great review! =)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've really want to read this book! It's one of my most anticipated reads this year!!! I am a character driven reader and these characters seem unique and very realistic and everything sounds so great :D

    Check out my review: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2015/01/theres-house-in-land-dnf.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ooh yes I really liked this one as well! I wasn't sure about it at first either but the hype doesn't lie with this one!

    Lovely review <33

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really want to read this book! *-* It's one of those that make you think about real problems and hard situations and it leaves you something in the end!

    ps. I have a blog as well, both in Italian and in English. I'd love if you wanted to check that out! :D -> http://frannieinthepages.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete

Hi guys! Thanks for taking your time to read through my post and comment on this blog. I appreciate each and every one of your comments, though I might not respond immediately to them. Also, if you're commenting on a meme, I would prefer replying on your meme post rather than here on my blog. :)

Total Pageviews

Like us on Facebook

Photobucket


Blog Anniversary

Subscribe